Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for April 4th, 2010

The richness I achieve comes from Nature, the source of my inspiration.
                          Claude Monet

Queensland is indeed the sunshine State of Australia.   Just look at the names of my recent holiday destinations – the Sunshine Coast, the Gold Coast and Surfers Paradise.    You can’t get much sunnier than that, and indeed they lived up to our expectations, despite warnings of cyclones and heavy rain.   We had brilliant sunshine, blue skies and golden sand every day.

I was again reminded of why I love Australia so much.    With the warm gritty sand between my toes, the sparkling cool water lapping around my body and the warm rays of the sun massaging me with strong life-giving fingers, energy began to flow back into my tired body and soul.    Perhaps I’m biased, but colours seem brighter in Australia, and the life-force humming in the land is a little louder here.

I’ve gone in search of more beautiful places and many have enchanted me.    Greece, Turkey, Italy, the Swiss Alps and the English countryside are among my favourites, but none are quite like this great South land.    The largest city I’ve lived in is London and I recall the regular need to escape the chilly grey city streets to the refuge of a green leafy English village, or a mediterranean retreat, to keep myself sane.

Even as a child I detested development and progress, and longed to live in the country.   When a major highway was constructed close to our home I would ride my scooter every day and gather together large rocks as ammunition.   Late in the afternoon when the construction workers had left, I would throw my rocks onto the newly constructed highway, believing wholeheartedly that I could stop them building the ugly highway.   The day they chopped down my three favourite trees to make way for the road I realised I was defeated, and I sobbed for hours for my sanctuary that had been destroyed.

While lazing on the Queensland beaches I was reminded of this stark contrast between the man-made and natural environment.   Even the quaint man-made lakeside suburbs around the Gold Coast, although aesthetically perfect and attractive, are strangely lacking in substance.   They look great, but the heartbeat of nature is missing.

I listened to this heartbeat last week as I floated over waves, felt the salty water splash up my nose, and admired the different shades of blue and aqua.   The air was clear, the sky spread above me forever, and my mind found clarity, away from computer screens, ringing telephones and endless activity.   It is in this sanctuary of creation where I feel grounded and focused, and where I can hear the voice of God whispering in my ear, and loving me with all the beauty of his artwork.

For many months I’ve been toying with ideas for a book, and none have felt quite right.  However, in my relaxation and reverie, the first really do-able idea just slipped into my consciousness, humming along with the life-force of the ocean around me.    In quietness and calm a small seed was planted.

I hope you too will be able to get some fresh air and open space this Easter, and take some time to be quiet and reflect on the beauty of the natural world around you.   If you are feeling jaded and worn down by life, look for replenishment in the oceans, rivers and trees.   No cathedral or church has ever held more of God’s presence than the mountain peak or the flower’s petal.    

I’ll leave you with a quote from Anne Frank, who hid from Nazi troops during World War II, and wrote in her now famous diary.   Anne left a legacy of words, including these lines about finding solace in nature:

The best remedy for those who are afraid, lonely or unhappy is to go outside, somewhere where they can be quiet, alone with the heavens, nature and God. Because only then does one feel that all is as it should be and that God wishes to see people happy, amidst the simple beauty of nature.

Read Full Post »